Change of Heart

Ciao tutti!

image

We were asked by our Mission President to find 10 scriptures on repentance so that we’ll have them in mind when we teach. The word ‘repentance’ has always bothered me, it has such negative connotations. When I think of repentance I think of sin, guilt, shame being a bad person. I think many of us do, which is sad because repentance is so much more hopeful than that. Yes, it is asking for forgiveness for the things we’ve done wrong but it is so much more. I’ve always loved the bible dictionary definition of repentance: “The Greek word of which this is the translation denotes a change of mind, a fresh view about God, about oneself, and about the world.” How wonderful is that, repentance means change, a fresh start, a new beginning. Repentance is recognising that were not perfect, being humble, coming unto Christ and sunning his atonement to be a better person. Which is why I chose Alma 5:26-27 to be one of much scriptures about repentance.

“And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now?
Have ye walked, keeping yourselves blameless before God? Could ye say, if ye were called to die at this time, within yourselves, that ye have been sufficiently humble? That your garments have been cleansed and made white through the blood of Christ, who will come to redeem his people from their sins?”

There’s a feeling of hope that comes from using the atonement, a feeling of relief and of love for the Saviour. Every time we use the atonement, either to ask for forgiveness or to ask for help to overcome something or just to develop the attributes if Christ more fully, we feel this change of heart and mind.

image

Another part of these verses which stuck out to me was “…Could ye say, if ye were called to die at this time, within yourselves, that ye have been sufficiently humble?” Ignoring the word ‘humble’ I thought about being satisfied with my work here in Foggia. The answer at the time I read it was no (after having a couple days of bidones/being stood up and therefore begrudgingly going street contacting and the prospect of being transferred), I wasn’t satisfied with my effort or faith or the impact I’ve had on our investigators. So I decided to repent, in the more hopeful sense, to have a change of heart, to feel more satisfied in doing my best. Obviously things didn’t miraculously turn around but things have been on the up and we never stop seeing miracles.

We ventured out to go finding Sunday night to bump into the Anziani with someone they found who insisted on buying us all a large gelato and then panzerotti; it was insane how generous he is, and you can’t say no because they’ll do it anyway! So we felt bad for him buying things on a Sunday but in this situation you can’t avoid it. Just to let you know SUNDAY NIGHTS ARE THE NIGHTS TO FIND. Well at least here in Foggia! You have to endure the fact that there is NO ONE outside until about 6pm on Sundays but once they start coming out side, I swear the whole of Foggia is in centro. Albeit we didn’t have much success last night until we were waiting for a bus at 8:45. I thought were just standing here we might as well talk to someone whilst we wait, then 2 girls walk past so I say “ci scusate, parlate inglese?”So it turns out that one of the girls, G, has just got back from bible college in England and wants to know more about us! And she’s free all week because she’s just graduated! Che miracolo! Buttttt our conversation lasted longer than it took for the bus to get to us so we had to walk home… Which meant that we got home late… However, we got her number, in fact she asked for ours!

 

This week was transfer calls, oh and transfer predictions… It was guessed that I would stay or get blown in to Rome 5, someone even suggested that I would train, hahahah!!!! No. But it turns out that I’m staying in the Fogg, Sorella Condé is getting blown in training as a Sister Training Leader (STL) in Crotone, crayzeee. In fact there are only two of us out of the 6 that are staying, the other being Anziano Boscán – after this transfer we would’ve seen each other almost everyday for over 5 months!

image

My companion will be Sorella Ensign, who’s mom is from up north in England and we met in the train going down to Foggia/Bari and have done a scambio because her comp was the STL in our Zone. It’s nice because we know each other and I hope this transfer will be amazing – IM NO LONGER A GREENIE!!!!! (Well starting Thursday on transfer day!).

On Monday we fixed our bikes and went to visit E our sweet investigator from English Course, it was an adventure to say the least because Italians are crazy drivers! But we survived and had a really good lesson helping her understand Alma 32.

Last night we moved our beds into the smallest room in the apartment because it’s the only room with air conditioning! But in the process we knocked over a bucket of water which went everywhere… But at least last night’s sleep was nice and cool, so cool in fact I went under the covers for the first time in a month! It is SO HOT here, in the late 30°Cs and this week it’ll get up to the early 40s! The sweat is so gross it’s unbelievable!

I know that God either puts us in the paths of his elect or he’ll put them in ours. That’s a promise from God, we never know what seeds we’ll be planting.

I hope you all have a lovely week! Vi voglio bene!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us.

Sorella Maja Tacchi xxx

image

Sorely Condé turned 1 in the mission field this week, I made her a cake.

One comment

  1. Angie · July 15, 2016

    💗 it! I love the realization that repentance means being happy with your best. What a darling child you have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

