The Lord will work miracles

This week I was asked to give a talk in sacrament on Moroni 10:3-5, it’s safe to say that I was pretty scared as the last time I gave a talk in Italian was in the MTC where nobody really understood what I was saying… But this time it would be obvious if I messed up or said an inappropriate word (which may or may not have happened in the MTC…). In preparation for this it really got me thinking about our relationship with our Heavenly Father and how we ask him for guidance in this life. Although I didn’t use any references to this talk, I’d really recommend reading “That I Might Draw All Men unto Me” by Elder Dale G. Renlund, it’s really interesting the relationship between the giver and the receiver. After I gave my talk a lady called L came up to me to thank me for my talk because it was just what she needed to hear. It just goes to show that although Italian is not my native tongue, the spirit can still bring the message unto the hearts of men.

IMG_1197

The week has been pretty crammed and all of the people that we’ve seen, investigators and members, seem to love Sorella Ensign, which makes me happy! No one turned up yesterday to teach youth Sunday school, so they asked us to teach it on the spot; it actually turned out pretty well as everything pretty much links into one of the 5 lessons!

IMG_1218

We were invited to go to a student of English Course for pranzo on Saturday with his daughter. He likes to teach us how to cook Italian style and this time we made a porcini mushroom risotto. I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms but it was seriously so good, I can’t wait to make it when I get home! He also made us a frittata which was is the Italian version of bubble and squeak in Britain, which we ate with a really good but also really simple tomato salad. Then we had some cantaloupe melon, which is always a nice way to end a pranzo. Cooking here in Italy has definitely changed the way I view food, and also the things I like to eat. I now cannot eat something if hasn’t been seasoned properly with salt and the correct herbs, and Parmesan cheese completes most dishes. Actually M has invited us back next Saturday so we’ll see what we cook then! It was nice at the end of pranzo they asked us what message we had prepared. The daughter said that she relies on us to give her a message of hope especially with what’s going on in the world right now. We shared the Easter video #Alleluia which talks about finding new life in Christ, which they really appreciated, and we think they took to heart.

IMG_1194

We went to Bovino today, it was pretty cool; we went to the castle there and saw some really pretty views of the town and over into the country.

We ate cake to celebrate Anziano Yskes’ belated birthday and just enjoyed the peace and quiet that p day *sometimes* brings.

IMG_1204

Just to let you know the mission mail address has changed, it’s now:
Sorella Maja Tacchi
Missione Italiana di Roma
Piazza Monte Gemma, 9
00141 Roma RM
ITALIA

But my address here in Foggia is still the same at (at least until August 25th & don’t forget the ‘Sorella’ part or I won’t get the mail!)


We have zone conference this week, the first one with Presidente and Sorella Pickerd which should be fun!

Have a lovely week, remember to be kind and smile always.

Vi voglio bene sempre,

It’s not about me, it’s not about us

Sorella Maja Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

