Create your life a masterpiece

 

I closed my eyes and selected a general conference talk, because they’re all great and I wanted to find a treasure that I might not have found through reading the titles. I selected one called “The Abundant Life” by Joseph B. Wirthlin. He gives three steps to enrich our lives: “The abundant life is within our reach if only we will drink deeply of living water, fill our hearts with love, and create of our lives a masterpiece.”

“No matter our age, circumstances, or abilities, each one of us can create something remarkable of his life.
David saw himself as a shepherd, but the Lord saw him as a king of Israel. Joseph of Egypt served as a slave, but the Lord saw him as a seer. Mormon wore the armour of a soldier, but the Lord saw him as a prophet.
We are sons and daughters of an immortal, loving, and all-powerful Father in Heaven. We are created as much from the dust of eternity as we are from the dust of the earth. Every one of us has potential we can scarcely imagine.
Love the Lord with all your heart, might, mind, and strength. Enlist in great and noble causes. Create of your homes sanctuaries of holiness and strength. Magnify your callings in the Church. Fill your minds with learning. Strengthen your testimonies. Reach out to others.
Create of your life a masterpiece.”

Brothers and sisters, it is in the quest of the abundant life that we find our destiny…
Who knows of what we are capable if we only try? The abundant life is within our reach if only we will drink deeply of living water, fill our hearts with love, and create of our lives a masterpiece.”

Do we see ourselves as children of a divine being with a God-like potential? The more we learn of our Father in Heaven and Saviour the more we can develop their attributes and attain that destiny to live a life exalted. This talk put a lot of things in perspective for me, I want my actions to show that I love my Father in Heaven, I want to learn if him and attain all the blessings he wants to give me, I will try to do all I can to live worthy of these blessings and his love.

And the last passage I read is from April 2016 Enisgn and is taken from a talk give by George W. Cannon and is entitled “Seeking Spiritual Gifts”. “Have I imperfections? I am full of them. What is my duty? To pray to God to give me the gifts that will correct these imperfections…No man ought to say, “Oh, I cannot help this; it is my nature.” He is not justified in it, for the reason that God has promised to give strength to correct these things, and to give gifts that will eradicate them…God has promised to give the gifts that are necessary for their perfection.” It’s true that God gives us the gifts necessary for our weaknesses to become strengths. We shouldn’t use our weaknesses as excuses not to try or do our best but equally we shouldn’t be discouraged because we have limitations. This life is an opportunity to learn how to fulfil our divine potential, and the next life is where we fulfil it.

Sorry for the long spiel, but it was a good week study wise, I also started to read the New Testament and Jesus the Christ too. I already feel closer to my Saviour, filled with more gratitude and love for him. He truly is  my best friend, I am so lucky to bear testimony of him everyday and wear his name next to mine on my chest.

So this week…

Monday we helped this Italian couple who live in Canada apply for new passports. They hardly spoke English and it was difficult to translate the specific requirements dictated in the application. But in the end we got it done, then we tried to see if they wanted to learn about the gospel, the wife said yes but the husband was like “no we’re Catholic but we only go to church at Christmas and Easter, so no.”

image

Tuesday we had lunch with a man who knows our bishop and the Anziani, he took us out to a fancy restaurant and I had tagliatelle with pork and mushrooms, then fried chicken and grilled veg then a gelato, we were all talking afterwards and he wanted to have pranzo with us all again, but at his house. Then he asked if Sorella Ensign and I can make pasta… We declined his invitation to have pranzo with him and the Anziani on Saturday. It was hard to see E and A this week, but we were able to see M last night and even though she’s going through a really hard time at the moment, we managed to make her smile and give her a glimmer of hope.

We went out with the YSA this week to the wonderful restaurant of McDonald’s… Although I’m not a huge fan (especially in Italy!) it was kinda nice to have the familiar taste of fries dipped in a McFlurry! Don’t judge… It’s amazing!

We also had district pranzo on Friday and on the way we were carrying some groceries to give to the Anziani and the plastic bag broke… But the Anziani made us taco salad which was actually really good! We ate it in the chapel because it’s the only room in the church with working AC!

We called some ex investigators in our phone book and this guy called A said we could come and see him in a cute paesino called Lucera and now he’s our investigator! Not being afraid of August really is a promise!

Image-3-2

We went going to IKEA today, and I was so excited to eat meatballs!! They tasted just like home, it was amazing! I also got some new bedding so I’m excited to have my own sheets! Also bought some lingonberry cordial so I’m excited to drink that too! I have to say, it was a pretty good pday!

image

So it’s transfer calls again this Saturday! And the possibility of leaving Foggia makes me so sad, I really don’t want to leave! I have been so blessed here! Plus I don’t want to leave my wonderful companion! So we shall see what Saturday brings…

Have a wonderful week, I hope God blesses you with whatever you need! Vi voglio un mondo di bene!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us

Sorella Tacchi xxx

image

Leave a Reply

