“I will give away all my sins to know thee” Alma 22:18

This week was HECTIC! But it started off with a pretty cool miracle last Monday night – we had tried to find a few less actives and none were able to see us, so we’re waiting for a bus and a woman joins us and asks if we’re from Foggia. Short story even shorter: we gave her a Book of Mormon, taught the Restoration and she said that she wanted to come to church on Sunday. Although she didn’t come yesterday because she had to work… But she still wants to meet us when she’s free!

Then on Tuesday Sorella Ensign cut about 6 or 7 inches off our hair, it’s taking a while to get used to it but it feels SO much better!

Then at English course we had 54 students!!! It was crazily packed, now it’s just time to get that many in Church on Sunday…

image

Wednesday we headed off to ROMA!!!! It was pretty cool to be back in the city 5ish months later but unfortunately we didn’t have time to see/proselyte at any of the sites… But it was really cool to be with lots of the missionaries from the mission and to catch up with some district members!

image

MTC district

Then Thursday was my 6 month mark! CRAZY!!!! This time next year I’ll definitely be home! Ahhhh! Time flies! It was also the Conference; it was pretty weird shaking President Kearon’s hand and not being able to hug him or call him Patrick! And then I started to cry when he called me Maja T! Ahhh it was emotional!

The Conference was great, and gave me the boost I needed and some comfort too! It was just amazing to catch up with him and the missionaries whom I hadn’t seen in soooo long!

Got to see my MTC district (minus Anz Alexander) and my mission parents too! I LOVE YOU ALL AND MISS YOU ALL SO MUCH!

Friday we did a gesso (sheet with chalk poster drawn on to it) to advertise English course, it was fun just to have quick little conversations in Italian and reminded me of my first gesso as a greenie! Saturday and Sunday were really good, but still trying to recover from the past week’s antics!

Consecration came up again this week, as I was reading in Alma where Aaron is teaching the father of Lamoni the gospel. He says something to Aaron that reminded me of an institute lesson we had last year, “I will give away all my sins to know thee”. Our institute teacher asked what are some of the sins we commit but carry on doing because we like to do them? As a pre-mi (what Anziano Yskes calls a person pre-mission) it was probably listening to songs that weren’t necessarily appropriate, films, etc. you get the idea. He then asked us if they were inhibiting us from knowing our Saviour better; and when doing those sins, it was in fact preventing me from having the spirit. Reading this now as a missionary, it caused me to think of the things that I’m not letting go of but that are preventing me from being diligent and consecrated. When we give up things to become like him, we receive gifts sweeter than we could have ever imagined (Matt 10:39). This links in with studying knowledge this week. When we focus on studying this gospel and the life of Christ, we come to know him and his gospel better and ultimately reach our divine potential, see below 2 Peter 1:3-9 (my favourite few verses from my study this week!).

3 According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue:
4 Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.
5 And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge;
6 And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness;
7 And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.
8 For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.
9 But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten that he was purged from his old sins.”

I hope you all have a lovely week, and know that you are all oh so very loved! Remember that I can receive emails all throughout the week, so keep me updated on all your lives (with photos 😉) I’m just sorry that I don’t always have time to write and then forget that I need to email you back… But please know that I love you!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us

Sorella Maja Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

