Fuggi da Foggia

If I thought the week before last was an intense one, I was wrong!!! Last week was probably the most busy of my mission!!

So for the news you’ve all been waiting for (probably not because you all have lives!) I got transferred!

Although I was extremely sad to be leaving my birth city of Foggia after almost 6 months, and my lovely companion Sorella Ensign, I took the 14:22 train to…ROMA TERMINI!!!!

I’m now in the ward known as Roma 2 and my area includes the city centre of Rome!

img_1659

I’m so excited to be here with my new companion, Sorella Rackham from New Jersey. We seem to get on really well, but I’m going to kill her.

For those of you who don’t know what that means, this is Sorella Rackham’s last transfer, so she’ll be dying at the end of the transfer hence why I’m killing her!

I also have some sad news. I left Foggia on Thursday afternoon after saying goodbye, on the Wednesday, to Olga who was in hospital. Sorella Ensign called me on Friday night to tell me that Olga had passed away the night before. When I first met Olga she didn’t believe in the plan of salvation and was scared of death. But by the time I left, she did believe in the life after this one. Even though only small steps of progress were made with her whilst I was there, I know that she loved having us around and that she’s in a better place and not in pain anymore. I am so grateful for the knowledge of the plan of salvation and a testimony of the eternal family. It takes away the sting of death and gives us the comfort when in times of grief. I am so grateful for a loving Heavenly Father who wants us home.

img_1644

This week, in preparation for our mission conference with President Nelson, I was reading one of his talks “Let your faith show”. He talks about not changing our personality when in groups of different people. When we are in the company of those not of our faith it can be easier to act as if we aren’t religious to save some awkwardness or potential exclusion. Our Heavenly Father wants us to be who we are and to not be ashamed of it; he created us, and he’s proud of us, so he doesn’t want us to hide it. “If one tries to segment his or her life into such separate compartments, one will never rise to the full stature of one’s personal integrity–never to become all that his or her true self could be.”

Another part of the talk I liked was this question, “The question we might ask ourselves is, are we securely tied to God so that our faith shows, or are we actually tied to something else?” Do we prioritise things above our faith and the development of it? Is our daily routine a reflection of a disciple of Christ? Or that of a lover of football, social media, or shoes? I know it’s easy as a missionary to be thinking of Christ and faith but it’s helped me to realise the life I want after the mission, yes I can have hobbies and other interests but I need to make sure I prioritise my faith. Ensure that I develop my testimony everyday, through study, prayer and application and not just float through life in a bubble.

“But living the Lord’s pure religion, which means striving to become a true disciple of Jesus Christ, is a way of life and a daily commitment that will provide divine guidance. As you practice your religion, you are exercising your faith. You are letting your faith show.”

I just love the final quote used in the this talk taken from President Monson, “Of course we will face fear, experience ridicule, and meet opposition. Let us have the courage to defy the consensus, the courage to stand for principle. Courage, not compromise, brings the smile of God’s approval. … Remember that all men have their fears, but those who face their fears with [faith] have courage as well.”

Today we went to do some sight seeing, because you know, I’m in ROME! Ahhh we went to see a church (I can’t remember which) and the Colosseum. It was a pretty tranquil day but cool to see some sights!

The work here is great and I’m so excited to be here; there’s so many miracles that I’ve seen already! Viva Roma!!!

Have a fabulous day! Love you!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us.

Love Sorella Tacchi xxx

My address is:
Sorella Maja Tacchi
Missione Italiana di Roma
Piazza Monte Gemma, 9
00141 Roma RM
ITALIA

Fun times

Farewell to friends in Foggia

Leave a Reply

