“Ho deciso di essere felice, perché fa bene alla salute” Voltaire

Goooood afternoon cari miei!

img_1705

I was reading in Luke 11 this week and something stood out to me:
“The light of the body is the eye: therefore when thine eye is single, thy whole body also is full of light;…If thy whole body therefore be full of light, having no part dark, the whole shall be full of light, as when the bright shining of a candle doth give thee light.”

There have been some times on my mission thus far, when people have told me that they can see the light in my eyes, it’s not a new thing or a concept foreign to us as members – it’s true, we have the light of the gospel and people see it. But these scriptures helped me to understand why missionaries get told this more often than members. As missionaries our eyes tend to be single to the glory of God because we’re out here (or at least should be) for one reason, Christ. Naturally, because we’re more gospel focused on our missions it’s easier for others to notice this light. However, I want to make sure that I keep it. We have a gift, we know of the restored gospel and the light and joy that it brings. It’s a gift worth sharing.

img_1721

Yesterday during our Zone Conference (hence why pday is today) we were asked to try “gifting” the baptismal invite; when we view membership as a gift it helps us invite others to do the same in a more sacred and reverent manner. It’s also becoming more and more obvious to me that people choose to become members because of the existing members. Almost all of the convert baptisms the mission had last transfer, were because they knew members and were friendshipped (making up words like Shakespeare) into the church. I realise now that I was a rubbish member before the mission; I didn’t introduce anyone to the missionaries and I didn’t particularly friendship any investigators. So I apologise for the opportunities I missed. But I invite (somewhat hypocritically) you to invite someone to meet the missionaries, start to introduce your beliefs to someone, or tell the missionaries to use you if they think you’d be a good member to friendship one of their investigators.

There was also another scripture that I liked, found in Luke 9:62 “And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.” I have come to realise that there is nothing really for me at home, obviously I have loved ones there, but sometimes I catch myself thinking of what life would be like if I was still at home. The truth is, I wouldn’t be at home if I wasn’t on the mission, I’d be at university in Scotland, which is where I’ll be going after, so, there is no need to think “what if” because I’ll experience it anyway! A few years ago I made a new year’s resolution to just do things, because I’d rather regret doing something than not doing something. So for me, this scripture of not looking back ties into this. There is no way I regret coming on a mission and leaving things behind; I don’t look back anymore because everything happens for a reason and that reason is God’s plan. So if you look back with regret and let that regret consume you, you’re not fit for the kingdom of God because that can be doubting him who is perfect, and whose plan is perfect.

img_1701

It’s been another packed week, getting to meet investigators here in my new area and truly becoming a roman! I’m so blessed to serve in such a culturally rich city, both historically and through all the different nationalities here. I have a feeling I’ll be learning some Spanish whilst I’m here too, we were called “hermanitas” by one of our Peruvian less actives! And some of my British sayings (like calling someone “love”) because one of our investigators is from London! Ahhh!

Today we visited a museum called Musei Capitolini, which was just full of roman things and was pretty cool! Just seeing the architecture though is my favourite, I can’t wait to study architecture! I just feel so incredibly blessed.

We will be graced by the presence of President Russel M. Nelson this Thursday for a whole mission conference! Ahhh!!! I’m so excited to see everyone!

Part of me doesn’t really want to talk about my investigators in specifics, but I’m just so grateful for the example they set to me, some are just so willing to change everything and they just love the church and wish that they were born into it. It’s incredible how the gospel can change everything.

I wish you all the best week!
Vi voglio un mondo di bene!!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us

Love

Sorella Tacchi xxximg_1713

Roma

img_1702

Leave a Reply

