Ground breaking news…

Quite literally!

Well what a week again, this time with some events that shook me (literally)! Of you haven’t already heard, there were some more earthquakes here in Rome and the surrounding areas. The largest being yesterday (at least to my limited senza access to the news knowledge) at 7.1 on the Richter scale, it was weird experiencing them for the first time and I was much calmer than I thought I would be. I just got to the nearest doorway and watched the room sway. It was much like being on a boat and actually made me feel sick, luckily no one was hurt and nothing fell but we’re expecting some more tremors as the fault lines settle down.

img_1800

Anyway, we also celebrated a lot of birthdays this week: Sorella Clark’s 21st, our investigator’s, and the daughter’s of the new convert family that we work with. Needless to say I’ve eaten a lot of cake this week and I’m not sorry about it! We visit the family every Friday night, and for her special birthday dinner, we ate Skyline (or Cincinnati chilli), which is spaghetti with chilli, onions, and LOTS of cheddar, and hot sauce if you wanted. It was so delicious, and who would’ve thought that I’d be trying new American specialties here in Rome!

img_1812

I was reading every primary boys’ favourite story in the Book of Mormon this week: the stripling warriors. This is totally not an originally thought but, as missionaries we really are like the stripling warriors. We have been taught what’s right and we have been commissioned to war, to protect those values and do what our fathers can’t do (in the sense of leaving our families for 18 months/2 years). I decided to personalise verses 20 and 21 in chapter 53 of Alma:
“And we are all young men and young women, and we are exceedingly valiant for courage, and also for strength and activity; but behold, this is not all—we are men and women who are true at all times in whatsoever thing we are entrusted.
Yea we are men and women of truth and soberness, for we have been taught the commandments of God and to walk uprightly before him.”
The fight is hard, and we are few but we do not doubt that God will deliver us.

There were also a couple of little things in the bible that I liked this week, the first being from Luke 15 “…joy shall be in heaven over one sinner that repenteth, more than over ninety and nine just persons, which need no repentance…Likewise, I say unto you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner that repenteth.” Whoever we are, wherever we may be, the atonement covers all. The biggest and best step we can all make today is the choice to repent, there is joy in repentance that comes from relief and angles rejoicing in your choice to come one more step closer to home in heaven above.

And the second comes from chapter 17 of Luke “Remember Lot’s wife.” A while ago a friend quoted this scripture to me, and in my awful memory of the Old Testament I didn’t have a clue what he was trying to say! But after he basically spelt out for me his point, I finally understood what the scripture was saying. It goes with what I was studying a couple weeks ago in Luke 9 “No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.” When we look back with longing, like Lot’s wife did when asked to flee Sodom and not look back. At times we go through trials but once we’ve overcome them or learnt our lesson, don’t dwell on the ‘what ifs’, go forward with faith and a perfect brightness of hope for the future.

Today we visited la scala santa and il basilica di San Paolo, it was pretty cool; I just love running around Rome as I’m always blown away by the architecture and the history here!

I love my mission and there isn’t anywhere else I’d rather be!

Happy Halloween! Have a fabulous week,
Vi voglio bene!!

It’s not about me, it’s not about us

Love Sorella Tacchi xxx

img_1801

Leave a Reply

