My Joy is Full

Buongiorgio (as one member says from our ward, whose name is Giorgio) from a very chilly Roma!

I’ll start off with the reason for the title of this email:
Our biggest blessing, was of course E’s Baptism!! She couldn’t be happier and neither could I! She has such an incredible story! Just seeing her enter the waters and be baptised was one of the most joyous experiences, and made everything I’ve experienced and learnt in the past 8 months (I hit 8 months tomorrow ahhhhh!!!) worth it. There’s no doubt in my mind that she will be an amazing asset to this ward and to the church; she is so strong and prepared. I feel so blessed to know her and to have shared this part of her journey with her. Seeing her happy and knowing she is one step closer to returning home on the right path makes me very happy. Truly my joy is full.

This weekend was Stake Conference, and the Stake Patriarch said something really interesting, he said that a patriarchal blessing was “un documento d’identità” or in English “a document of identification”. A patriarchal blessing is something very specific and personal but I’d never thought about it in regards to something that proves my identity. I suppose it is because it talks about lineage, and things pertaining to you personally and only you. It then reminded me of something a member said in Foggia to her son at lunch, she told him that if he read her patriarchal blessing he could see that it was her. At the end of every transfer I reflect and see a pattern or a theme, and this transfer has been about patriarchal blessings. There’s things in it that don’t have meaning for my life just yet, but I’ve been trying, more recently, to live by its precepts and follow its counsel more specifically. And I’ve been trying to truly understand my heritage as a descendent of Abraham. Also upon reading I can see parts of my blessing fulfilled which is just wonderful, as they worked out in ways I didn’t expect when I first received my blessing.

img_1854

I was also rereading a little about faith, and I just love this kart of the bible dictionary definition: “Faith is a principle of action and of power, and by it one can command the elements, heal the sick, and influence any number of circumstances when occasion warrants (Jacob 4:4–7). Even more important, by faith one obtains a remission of sins and eventually can stand in the presence of God.” Yes faith is godly power, but the thing most miraculous about that power is the fact that one can obtain a remission of sins by it. Every day we have the opportunity to use faith’s most powerful use, we can become free from the price of sin. That is more astonishing than moving mountains, enabling the blind to see and feeding thousands. Why do we sometimes get so caught up with how great our faith is in regards to things we have little (if any) control over, see Fourth Floor, Last Door by President Uchtdorf in November Ensign 2016.

img_1874

Today is a sad day though, as I have to say goodbye to Sorella Rackham who gets on a plane tomorrow morning as her 18 months has come to an end. I still have no clue as to what’s happening next transfer because transfer calls are tonight!

img_1899

For at least the next few days I’ll be with Sorella Walch, who’s companion is also dying (going home). So it’ll just be us two until Thursday… I’m so not ready to be senior companion (at least for the next 3 days!)!!!! Ahhhhh 😬😬😬

We’ll see how it all goes!!! Have the best week!

Vi voglio un mondo di bene,

Sorella Maja Tacchi

Wonderful gifts from members in the ward

Leave a Reply

