Come what may, and love it

Ciao tutti,
I was reading a talk by Elder Bednar this week about the reasons why our leaders are of a more mature age; I found it very interesting as he explains that our leaders don’t need to be younger in order to understand modernities, a more eternal view and a greater appreciation of doctrine is something that can only come with time and experience. He included a quote from Elder Hales talking about his diminishing physical ability, “When you cannot do what you have always done, then you only do what matters most.” Elder Bednar included quotes from the last talks of the general authorities who have passed on. I suppose that as humans near death, and perhaps more so apostles, priorities become refined and the greatest teachings and the strongest testimonies come into play. It’s also something I’ve noticed in the scriptures, and also with “dying” missionaries!! There’s so much to learn from those closer to the veil, and this talk has really help me appreciate the counsel of my Elders; yes they didn’t grow up in the same era nor did they experience the same things I’ve experienced or will experiences in the 21st century, but they have a view closer to the view of God because they’re more experienced with the spirit and through trial and error, have come to know “what matters most”.

There’s been some changes to missionary life all around the world, and one of the main reasons for these changes, is to give us more agency. Sometimes I think life would be easier if I was just told what to do. Criteria have helped me with getting good grades in essays, so why can’t it be the same with missionary work? I suppose this will give me the opportunity to develop something that I’ve never been good at: self discipline. So wish me luck!

We had joint Priesthood / Relief Society yesterday and we watch the YSA devotional from January 2016 and the last part of Sister Nelson’s talk touched me despite hearing it last year “I pray that this year you will have some moments of anguishing desperation that will propel you further along the path to becoming the man or woman you were born to be. Your true self is spectacular! Never settle for less.”  So it’ll be difficult I know, but I just have to keep in mind who I’ll be at the end of it, knowing that these are refining moments. The difference between charcoal and diamonds is the pressure they were made under.

There was also this quote that I liked from another talk I read! “Knowing why we left the presence of our Heavenly Father and what it takes to return and be exalted with Him, it becomes very clear that nothing relative to our time on earth can be more important than physical birth and spiritual rebirth, the two prerequisites of eternal life.” Life is important and shouldn’t be wasted.

So it turns out I had a sinus infection which is why I was sick for so long… but with some very strong anti-Bs I’m on the mend! And now my companion is getting ill… ’tis the season!

This week also saw some more food adventures, we had pizza whilst watching the worldwide missionary broadcast,

img_2303

a gelato dipped in chocolate (it’s called gelato bagnato),

img_2301

and yesterday we had a divine Sunday pranzo complete with a real home made, by an Italian nonna (grandma), lasagne! Mmmm, it was so so so good! Today is another chill pday 🙂

img_2300

This morning a really sweet member of the ward surprised us with breakfast! It’s so nice that people think of us on a Monday morning!

I hope you all have the best week! Love to you all!

Sorella Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

