We shall be saved by his life” Romans 5:10

I just realised this is the start of week 52… which means I hit a year next Wednesday… what?

This week I was reading Romans 5 & “In the Strength of the Lord” by David A. Bednar, which talk about the enabling power of the Atonement and the power that we can have from Christ thanks to his mortal experience. I’m so grateful that we focus on the fact that Christ lives, and because he lives we can have hope and so many wonderful blessings. “we also need to appreciate that the Lord desires, through His Atonement and by the power of the Holy Ghost, to live in us” 

“For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by his life.” Romans 5:10

We often contemplate Christ’s suffering and death for us, but we need to more fully contemplate the meaning of Christ’s life for us – especially his resurrection, that he still lives. He lives to bring me home, he knows exactly how to help me get there. I also looked up the definition of reconcile in the dictionary and the Latin roots: re meaning back and conciliare meaning bring together. So we are brought back together thanks to the life and Atonement of Christ. I first read the talk by Elder Bednar when I was preparing to give my farewell talk before my mission on the enabling power of the Atonement, so it was really nice to rediscover the meaning of the power that comes from Christ’s life and his ministry and how he can help me in all that I do.

I also like how in verse 10 it mentions when we were enemies to God, and when we act on the temptations of the natural man (Mosiah 3:19), but we can revive strength from Christ to overcome these temptations. Later in the talk Elder Bednar shares how we should ask for power to change our circumstances rather than have our circumstances changed. “As we progress in the journey of mortality from bad to good to better, as we put off the natural man or woman in each of us, and as we strive to become saints and have our very natures changed, then the attributes detailed in this verse increasingly should describe the type of person you and I are becoming. We will become more childlike, more submissive, more patient, and more willing to submit.” 

We had a wonderful lesson with one of our investigators this week about prayer, although we didn’t really get to what we planned to help her better her prayers; in preparation for it, I realised that I really need to improve my prayers. I was reading ‘Improving your Personal Prayers’ by Kevin W. Pearson, parts of ‘The Price of Priesthood Power’ by Russell M. Nelson, and ‘What I Have Learned about Mighty Prayer’ by Mary Jane Woodger. I didn’t realise how important it is to prepare to pray, and how much it helps to pray out loud personally.

IMG_2522

Anyway, this week was good, saw some miracles, had an impression taken of my teeth at the orthodontist and had the BEST lasagna at the house of the Stake President. Oh my goodness, it was to die for!!! Then today we showed the missionaries from Ragusa around Ortigia! Man I can’t stop loving that little island! We painted a kitchen too this week, the member who’s kitchen we painted just really needed us there – I just love the little ways in which we serve. Sorella Ferre and I decided to do a whole day of just speaking Italian, at the end of that day we just crashed!! But it was good, and I feel so blessed to be able to speak this beautiful language and feel somewhat confident in doing so!

Hope you have a lovely week; I’ll be emailing on Saturday this week as we’re hiking Etna and have to change my pday!

Love you all! Sorella Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

