“To be spiritually minded is life and peace” Romans 8:6

Buon dì!!!

The hike up Mount Etna was postponed.

IMG_2557

I read another great chapter in Romans this week, essentially chapter 8 is about the Atonement and love of Christ. To explain the title of this email: when we focus on our spiritual needs and growth we find that our physical needs are also taken care of, and we find more peace in our lives rather than being preoccupied with our physical needs to which we can often be slaves. I was reading a talk called “Self-Mastery” this week by President Nelson, and he explains that when we follow and keep the commandments of God we are teaching our spirits to be masters of the body rather than our spirits being slaves to the body. There is greater freedom and thus more “life”.

In verse 18 it says “For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed [to] us.” (I added the Joseph Smith Translation because it helps us understand the meaning a little more clearly). It reminds me of section 121 in D&C verses 7-8 and 29 “My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment;
And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes.
All thrones and dominions, principalities and powers, shall be revealed and set forth upon all who have endured valiantly for the gospel of Jesus Christ.” What a wonderful promise that we believe in. We can’t even compare our earthly sufferings, trials, and temptations to that of the wonders and gifts of the eternities.

I love how patience is frequently coupled with other Christ attributes. I believe it’s one gift that every missionary develops in their mission, it’s such an important gift to cherish because it will never stop being used and developed and will always lead to good. “24 For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for?
25 But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it.” It’s always all about God’s perfect timing.

I just love the promise in verse 31 “If God be for us, who can be against us?” In the footnotes of be it replaces it with the JST prevail. So “If God be for us, who can prevail against us?” The definition of prevail is prove more powerful or superior. We know that when we’re on the Lord’s side we will always be victorious, maybe not in the immediate future, but in the end.
“Who’s on the Lord’s side? Who?
Now is the time to show.
We ask it fearlessly:
Who’s on the Lord’s side? Who?” 
Finally in my breakdown of this chapter (kinda feel like a seminary teacher…) verses 37-39 were some of my favourites. “Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.
For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,
Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Nothing can come between the love our Saviour has for us, not even ourselves, everything that has ever existed, exists because he loves us. Oh so very very much. It’s one of the biggest realisations of my mission and it amazes me every time I think about it. He loves you more than you can comprehend.

IMG_2570

As for the adventures of the week: we painted some more, and did a lot of finding! Saw some miracles last night and for the first time in a long time I really enjoyed finding. I just love telling people the source of my hope. Friday we went to Catania and got my retainer which was followed with a few nights of sleeplessness and pain… oh well! I ate a cannolo and felt sick.

Then Saturday night we went to a member’s house for dinner and let’s just say it was an adventure and I haven’t laughed like that for a while!

Can I just give a shout out to my awesome companion, Sorella Ferre, she’s the bomb! She helps me be such a better missionary!!!

I hit a year this Wednesday (March 15th) so there’s that… don’t know how I feel about it… today (March 13th) marks the last day since I saw pretty much everyone! I don’t believe it’s been a year! I love this mission and the Lord!

Hope you all have a fab week, I love you a lot!

Love you all! Sorella Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

