“Let us therefore follow after the things which make for peace, and things wherewith one may edify another.” Romans 14:19

Helloooo

I was reading a talk this week called “What I Want My Son to Know before He Leaves on His Mission” by James E. Faust, and the first thing he talked about is this: “Most of our missionaries are young and inexperienced in the ways of the world. Nevertheless, the Lord said: “He that is ordained of God and sent forth, the same is appointed to be the greatest, notwithstanding he is the least and the servant of all.” It made me reflect on my nothingness, compared with the greatness of my creator and how privileged I am to receive his help in his work. When President Pickerd arrived last summer we discussed the calling of Enoch as a prophet.  God has a habit of calling those who seem the most unqualified for the work, and he uses them with a more magnificent effect than those most qualified without God. I saw this pattern in my studies this week too in both the New Testament and the Doctrine and Covenants.

I also particularly liked D&C 31 this week, I was asked to read this over a year ago by my Bishop and he was telling me that my mission will immensely bless my family, not just the family I have now but my future family. I can’t agree with that more, looking back to who I was and now I know how to be a better daughter, friend, wife, and mother. I’ve just learnt so much about what’s expected of me as all of those roles, and I have the tools to be better. I shall ever be grateful for how my mission has blessed me this far.
1 [Maja], my [daughter], blessed are you because of your faith in my work.
2 Behold, you have had many afflictions because of your family; nevertheless, I will bless you and your family, yea, your little ones; and the day cometh that they will believe and know the truth and be one with you in my church.
3 Lift up your heart and rejoice, for the hour of your mission is come; and your tongue shall be loosed, and you shall declare glad tidings of great joy unto this generation.
4 You shall declare the things which have been revealed to my servant, Joseph Smith, Jun. You shall begin to preach from this time forth, yea, to reap in the field which is white already to be burned.
5 Therefore, thrust in your sickle with all your soul, and your sins are forgiven you, and you shall be laden with sheaves upon your back, for the laborer is worthy of his hire. Wherefore, your family shall live.
6 Behold, verily I say unto you, go from them only for a little time, and declare my word, and I will prepare a place for them.
7 Yea, I will open the hearts of the people, and they will receive you. And I will establish a church by your hand;
8 And you shall strengthen them and prepare them against the time when they shall be gathered.
9 Be patient in afflictions, revile not against those that revile. Govern your house in meekness, and be steadfast.
10 Behold, I say unto you that you shall be a physician unto the church, but not unto the world, for they will not receive you.
11 Go your way whithersoever I will, and it shall be given you by the Comforter what you shall do and whither you shall go.
12 Pray always, lest you enter into temptation and lose your reward.
13 Be faithful unto the end, and lo, I am with you. These words are not of man nor of men, but of me, even Jesus Christ, your Redeemer, by the will of the Father. Amen.”

This week has been crazy!! Jam flippin’ packed!!! I’ll do a day by day run through!

Monday night we received transfer calls and I’m staying in Siracusa for a 3rd transfer with my lovely companion Sorella Ferre. But we said goodbye to Anziano Price and hello to Anziano Young! Just a small change, but I’m really looking forward to this transfer, I’m just guessing I’m going to leave after this one and probably to my final city…

Tuesday we met with a less active who hadn’t been in contact with the church for about 35-40 years, she’s not necessarily interesting in coming back (yet;)) but she wanted to hear about how we live our beliefs, she wants to meet again so I’m happy! But she’s quite firm in her beliefs and believes that everything is temporary, but we have faith! That night we were invited to perform at the international poetry day event in Siracusa, I accompanied Anziano Price in the violin playing Ave Maria on Bach’s prelude in C, then I played a piece by Einaudi and then Sorella Ferre and I sang ‘A Child’s Prayer’ in Italian whilst Anziano Moscon played the piano and Anziano Price played the violin. It was really fun to be able to use talents and make our less active a very happy woman! Plus we’re now immortalised here in the Siracusa Newspaper!

Wednesday we made pizza as a district, and then made a ciambella with one of our less actives.

Thursday we did some knitting with a group of ladies from Siracusa that meet at the church because one of the members is a member; we took our ciambella and they were very impressed;) Thursday night we said goodbye to Anziano Price after English course… but it’s okay he’s in the next city over and still in our zone!

IMG_2660

Friday we planned out the new transfer and it was SUCH a good planning session, then we did some finding and had more success this week, we gave a Book of Mormon to this lovely family who seemed in need of some hope and really liked the video we showed them!

Saturday morning we went to a family in our ward to teach their girls (we’re helping prepare the 8 year old for baptism!), then we had pranzo with some members who are African, we had fish and rice and when I decided to eat with my hands like they were doing (they gave us knives and forks to use) the mother was SO happy!! Especially when I put more chilli powder on my rice! It was so fun, this family is just so close to my heart.

IMG_2663

Sunday was a good day, we got invited to a family’s house.  Then we took a train to PALERMO! Sorella Ferre had to return to her birth city for some visa paperwork, so we had a sleepover with the sisters in Palermo.

IMG_2667

Yesterday morning (Monday) we went to the questura, and were there for 3 hours but in the waiting time we talked to this sweet Russian girl who’s studying in Palermo. After we were done we got some froyo, and some lunch which we ate in front of the duomo (Cathedral), Palermo is such a beautiful bustling city!

Then last night we arrived home and

Today (Tuesday) we bought some cheese from our favourite place (the place where we get the sandwiches), cleaned our apartment, and did some grocery shopping. This week is going to be packed again, it’s just the best being busy!

I hope you are all well and happy! I don’t know what the weather’s like in your respective places but here it is sunny and beautiful and warm because SPRING IS HERE!! Hope you all have a good conference weekend!

Love Sorella Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

