“Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” Jeffrey R. Holland

Cari miei,

As I was studying this week, one morning I just wasn’t feeling inspired so I put my head on my desk and noticed a wrinkled page in my Italian scriptures. I opened it up to flatten it out and ended up reading about sacrifice in the guide in the scriptures. Which says: “In ancient days, sacrifice meant to make something or someone holy…Joseph Smith taught that “a religion that does not require the sacrifice of all things never has the power sufficient to produce the faith necessary unto life and salvation.”” I know that I need to make a lot more sacrifices to the Lord if I hope to one day become like him and if I want eternal life. From this conference, it was another confirmation that I need to make sacrifices to do things he asks me to do, no questions asked. I need to decide now to always do his will, and so that’s what I’ve done. I know in whom I’ve trusted (2 Nephi 4).

We had a pretty crazy miracle this week! In some time we had after a less active appointment before correlation we decided to look for an ex-investigator. We found the address and upon asking where this girl was we were told that she had died almost 2 years ago. Unexpected to us, they invited us in and we shared with them the new Easter video and our testimonies of the plan of salvation. With tears in their eyes, they told us about the brother who died before the ex-investigator and the cousin who died about 5 months ago, and that they were tired. I hope that our message brought them light and relief as we further testified about the strength that comes from the Grace and Atonement of Christ. The Mother, Father and Aunt accepted our invitation to return next Wednesday, so we’re hoping that they will start to recognise the truth and light of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It’s pretty sweet to think that they have help on the other side of the veil.

These past few weeks have been somewhat disheartening, despite my best efforts to remain positive as we have one remaining investigator, who is struggling in someways. But the second counsellor in the Bishopric told us, in correlation, that by letting our ex-investigators rest to use our time more efficiently tells him that we in fact have had successful weeks, because our purpose is to invite not to baptise. He goes on to tell us that we are showing great faith and trust in the Lord by making those decisions, leaving the house everyday and carrying on in the work despite not seeing immediate results. Those words came in a way that I needed, I know we are blessed in this work, “Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” Jeffrey R. Holland, October 1999.

This week was pretty packed, on Wednesday we had a scambio (exchange) in Catania, then General Conference this past weekend (always such a delight to bask in hours and hours of insight and counsel. Then today we went back to Catania for Zone Ultimate Frisbee, it was really fun just to run around in the sun. However typical me, I run to grab the frisbee and smash my face into an Elder’s shoulder resulting in me now having a fat lip… and then it down poured and we all got soaked but it was so, so much fun! This week should be back to ‘normal’, but really what’s normal for a missionary!?

I hope you’re all happy and healthy and enjoyed Conference! Remember this week to take some time like M. Russell Ballard invited, to make some life goals and plans! I’ve never really liked goals, but as I did what he asked I know that I can reach the end of my mortal life with fulfilment. Have the best week!

Love Sorella Tacchi xxx

IMG_2686                                                                                                    “Go out in the rain, look up to heaven, open your mouth, and drink it! When you lookup, you will be strengthened to open your mouth to everyone without any fear.”                   Elder Yoon Hwan Choi, General Conference, April 2017

Leave a Reply

