Buona Pasqua / Meat and Marriage

Auguri!!!! Spero che tutti voi abbiate trascorso una buona Pasqua!
This week was a pretty wonderful one!
But I’ll explain a little of my studies first as I know that’s your favourite part…

I was contemplating the Saviour’s experience in Gethsemane on Friday morning and read the wonderful account in Matthew, and some words that have been constantly on my mind for the past month are “thy will be done” Matthew 26:42. So I spent most of my personal study thinking about that and linking it to a talk given by Elder Holland that I’ve most definitely quoted before. “I am convinced that missionary work is not easy because salvation is not a cheap experience. Salvation never was easy. We are The Church of Jesus Christ, this is the truth, and He is our Great Eternal Head. How could we believe it would be easy for us when it was never, ever easy for Him? It seems to me that missionaries and mission leaders have to spend at least a few moments in Gethsemane. Missionaries and mission leaders have to take at least a step or two toward the summit of Calvary…You have reason to stand tall and be grateful that the Living Son of the Living God knows all about your sorrows and afflictions. The only way to salvation is through Gethsemane and on to Calvary. The only way to eternity is through Him–the Way, the Truth, and the Life.” 
If we want to call ourselves disciples of Christ we have to be willing to go where he went and to do the things he did. Therefore I have to be willing to do the Father’s will because I know his plan is perfect, and can be temporarily painful but has will always be the best thing in the end. There’s a really beautiful song in the most recent EFY soundtrack called thy will be done and I just wanted to share the lyrics:

1. Thy will be done, O Lord, not mine
Whether in brightest day or darkest night
And give me strength to carry on
Whatever comes
Thy will be done
2. And though I walk on paths unknown
And pass through fire or wear a crown of thorns
I know I’ll never be alone
This is my song
Thy will be done
Though I don’t always understand
What thou hast willed, what thou hast planned
I’ll leave it all inside thy hands
And trust thy will until we meet again
3. Thy will be done, O Lord, not mine
Though tears may fall and loved ones say goodbye
Thou seest so much more than I
Thy kingdom come
Thy will be done
Though I don’t always understand
What thou hast willed, what thou hast planned
I’ll leave it all inside thy hands
And trust thy will until we meet again
4. Thy will be done, O Lord, not mine
Whether in brightest day or darkest night
And give me strength to carry on
Whatever comes
Thy will be done

To explain the title of the email, I was doing my daily reading of the doctrine and covenants and was reading section 49. It was very interesting, as verse 15 says “And again, verily I say unto you, that whoso forbiddeth to marry is not ordained of God, for marriage is ordained of God unto man.” And then in verse 18 “And whoso forbiddeth to abstain from meats, that man should not eat the same, is not ordained of God;” It was just very odd to have those two topics combined in one section. It’s a good job I’m not opposed to eating meat and getting married!

On Wednesday we had an activity with the youth and we planned to do our spiritual thought on missionary work and inviting them to bring their friends but when we showed up there were more nonmembers than members! So we had to quickly change our spiritual thought! It was a lot of fun!

IMG_2740

Do you remember our semi broken washing machine? Well now it’s fully broken… we tried to do some laundry on Friday and it wouldn’t spin… so whilst we wait for the Easter season to pass so someone can fix it, we have to go old school and wash our clothes in the bath tub…!! Friday night we had a wonderful Easter fireside and I got to listen to my favourite: Handel’s Messiah! Ahhh it’s glorious! Saturday we ate some peanut butter chicken and rice (that was so, so, so yummy!!!) and then the Elders had a baptism! He’s such a cute old man!!! It was a very sweet baptism and I sang a solo as the musical number, I’ve never sung a solo in front of people before as I’ve always been too nervous. Anyway it went well, I think. Haha.

IMG_2743

Sunday was good too, we had a lovely sacrament service and then we ate with the family of the 8 year old girl we’re helping prepare for baptism!

IMG_2745

Then we passed by one of our beloved less actives! Ahhh she’s my favourite! Then today we’re having a huge ward party for Pasquetta! Tomorrow we have Zone Conference so I’m sure that will be good!

IMG_2737

Hope you are all well and happy! Vi voglio un sacco di bene!

Love Sorella Tacchi xxx

IMG_2742

IMG_2741

Memories of home – Easter breakfast

IMG_2739

Leave a Reply

