“La religione senza azione è come il sapone che resta chiusa nella confezione” Dieter F. Uchtdorf

Hellooooo

I had some really interesting insights this week. Whilst doing language study I was reading the first presidency message in the April Liahona from President Uchtdorf, it was about how the world has need for faith because without it we can’t better ourselves or the world. But it also got me thinking about the difference between religion and faith. Faith is like the disinfectant in the soap, its the substance that makes soap soap but it’s not soap by itself. Religion is the the bar of soap, without faith, like soap with out the cleansing element, it doesn’t serve its purpose. We have religion because it helps us put our faith into action, just like the soap puts the cleaning into action.

I was also pondering about forgiveness this week, especially as I read the line “I, the Lord, remember them no more.” in D&C 58:42. If he promises to not remember our sins, and we feel this is true because of the lightening effect, the rejoicing, and the hope that comes from forgiveness then why later down the road we remember the sin and feel the godly sorrow all over again? If we remember, surely he does too? The adversary wants you to believe that. He wants you to not continue in hope. We remember our sins and the pain we feel because we need to remember why we shouldn’t do it again. Remember the pain but let it fuel your hope in the sense that you don’t have the desire to feel that way again so you press forward.

“ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.” 2 Corinthians 6:16

IMG_2893

This week was really goooood. Well, apart from the usual ups and downs that come with missionary life and everything else!   Wednesday we went to one of our favourite family’s home for pranzo where we had squid! It was actually not that bad, I would eat it again. It was a little weird to eat food that was black though.

IMG_2871

Friday we went to see a Book of Mormon referral from Salt Lake, we had to plan it out in advance though as she lived in a town about a 40 minute train ride and a mile walk away. After the train delay, and the really hot walk in a black dress (I’m the most clever person to exist) we arrive somewhat sweaty! But this lesson was an absolute dream. The spirit was there in abundance and she accepted everything, she said that everything just made sense. It was glorious. I just have a strong testimony that success is not earned, it’s given (Alma 26:22). Our investigator had her baptism interview and all seems to be in place for her baptism. It’s been somewhat of a struggle, my time here in Siracusa, as it’s been a struggle to have work but I just know that when we work as hard as we can God doesn’t have an excuse not to give us success.

“Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” Jeffrey R. Holland

Saturday night gesso was fun, I really hope that we reap the benefits in English course on Tuesday!

And then yesterday ended really well as I got to Skype home for the 3rd and final time. I can’t believe it’s been 15 months since I left home.

IMG_2880

Also yesterday in church two Italian RMs came to visit, one who finished her mission a year ago and the other who finished her mission 35 years ago. It bought chills to my soul as I realised that I can do that. I can’t imagine being in my mid-50s and seeing all the people I love here in Italy 35 years older. What a wonderful gift it is to serve a mission.

love Sorella Tacchi xxx

Leave a Reply

