“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Ciao a tutti

I was reading in Doctrine and Covenants this week and in section 64 verse 2 it reads “For verily I say unto you, I will that ye should overcome the world; wherefore I will have compassion upon you. The blessings that come from overcoming the world are beautiful and can be found in Revelation chapters 2 and 3 and also D&C 76:64. But what does overcoming the world really mean? To me it means putting off the natural man, setting aside the worldly things that are innate in our mortal state, it means to truly become as our Saviour.

Elder Neal A. Andersen said this in his most recent talk at General Conference “Overcoming the world is not one defining moment in a lifetime, but a lifetime of moments that define an eternity.” The process by which we overcome the world is repentance, or change. A change in our hearts that inspires us to do good, and then to actually do good! “Overcoming the world is not a global invasion but a private, personal battle, requiring hand-to-hand combat with our own internal foes. Overcoming the world means treasuring the greatest commandment: “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength.”…Overcoming the world is keeping our promises to God–our baptismal and temple covenants and our oath of faithfulness to our eternal companion. Overcoming the world leads us humbly to the sacrament table each week, asking for forgiveness and pledging to “remember him and keep his commandments,” that we “may always have his Spirit to be with [us].”…Overcoming the world is remembering, even when we are discouraged, the times we have felt the love and light of the Savior. Elder Neal A. Maxwell explained one of these experiences this way: “I had been blessed, and I knew that God knew that I knew I had been blessed.” Although we may temporarily feel forgotten, we do not forget.” I know that as we keep the Saviour as our centre and hold true to our covenants, throughout our life on earth we can overcome the world.

The verse in D&C tells us who’s on our side. He wants us to overcome the world, and therefore we will overcome the world with his help, but we must ask for it and then use it. We must truly yearn for that divine guidance and aid. We are not alone in our mortal mission, he is there “Heaven is cheering you on today, tomorrow, and forever” Elder Jeffrey R. Holland.

IMG_3034

So now, transfer calls came and went a week ago, and as I suspected I left my beloved Siracusa and in fact the beautiful island of Sicilia… I got on a plane Thursday morning (because the mission is pretty big and consists of the mainland and 3 islands!) and headed to Rome and then to Cagliari which is on the island of SARDEGNA! Was not the call I was expecting! But I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to serve on this island! Not only did I island hop but I got blown in, or in other missions it’s called white washed? So that’s been interesting… but we haven’t seemed to get too lost #googlemapssaveslives.

My new companion is called Sorella Lalonde and she’s from Kingston, Canada! She’s really sweet, and she’s almost been out 6 months. Yesterday was wonderful, I already love this ward!!

IMG_3054

Today we went to this castle on a hill and saw a pretty sweet view of the city, then we went and had Mexican food, I forgot how much I missed chimichangas!!!

IMG_3045

So I’m still a sister training leader, the only one on the island! I once heard of an Anziano saying that the Sardegna Zone Leaders must be the most stressed in the whole mission because they’re the zone leaders of the entire island, so that must make me the most stressed STL! Hahaha!

IMG_3046

Due to being transferred I had to say goodbye to home, or at least that’s what it felt like! In fact, I left some thing in Siracusa and said “oh I must’ve left it at home…” weird how you can feel so settled and at home when you get to live in a city for 6 months. Saying goodbye was hard, especially to Sorella Ferre! I wish I could take her with me! I have so much love for that girl and I know she will make sure Siracusa is well, and I know Siracusa will continue to love her like I do! Ahhh, Siracusa was the best! Can’t wait to return! So as I was leaving Sicily I had to learn to make one of the most Sicilian things there is: ARANCINI!!!!! Ahhhh it was the BEST!!!!

Had a little miracle since being here though, we were finding on Saturday night because we didn’t really know what else to do on such sort notice! We were wandering down this street and there’s literally one person on it, so we talk to her and she’s actually interested in the church! Hopefully we can see her soon, speriamo bene!!

IMG_3044

We have Zone Conference this Friday and just got the agenda so I hope all can be sorted in such short notice:/. But we had an inspection today with the Guercios! Oh I miss them, can’t wait to see them in UT next year!

Until next weeeek

Sorella Tacchi xxx

Saying goodbye to friends in Siracusa

IMG_3032

Our last district gelato

IMG_3046

Cagliari, Sardegna

The Cagliari Sorelle

Leave a Reply

